Management and Control of Health Care-Associated Bloodstream Infections, ESCMID Postgraduate Education Course

23 - 24 April 2015, Copenhagen, Denmark

  • ESCMID Study Group for Antibiotic Policies (ESGAP)
  • ESCMID Study Group for Bloodstream Infections and Sepsis (ESGBIS)
  • ESCMID Study Group for Nosocomial Infections (ESGNI)
Course Coordinators
  • Bojana Beovic, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Hakan Hanberger, Linköping, Sweden
Course Objectives
  • Learn the principles and reflect on how NBSI/HCABSI surveillance should best be designed
  • Learn the principles and reflect on prevention of NBSI/HCABSI
  • Reflect on barriers/success factors of implementation of preventive measures against NBSI/HCABSI
  • Learn the principles and reflect on how to develop antimicrobial treatment guidelines for NBSI/HCABSI
  • Learn the principles and reflect on use of prophylactic antimicrobials to prevent post-surgical NBSI/HCABSI
Course Venue

Tivoli Hotel & Congress Center
Arni Magnussons Gade 2
1577 Copenhagen

Phone +45 44 87 00 00

Target Audience

60–70 medical doctors, scientists and clinical pharmacists involved in management and control of health care-associated bloodstream infections.

CME Accreditation

The organisers of the course will apply for European CME accreditation through EACCME.

Contact Person (Scientific Programme)

Hakan Hanberger, MD, Prof
Dept. of Infectious Diseases
Inst. of Clinical and Experimental Medicine
Linköping University
58185 Linköping

Mobile: +46 70 57 97 102
Skype: hakan.hanberger

Administrative Secretariat

Humlan Svensson
Department of Gender and Medicine
Linköping University
Hälsans Hus
58183 Linköping

Phone: +46 13 284 615
Mobile: +46 732 707 743

Course Programme


Presentations are availabe in the ESCMID Online Lecture Library.

Thursday, 23 April 2015

09:00 Welcome and introduction. Bojana Beovic, Hakan Hanberger &
           Winfried Kern

09:15 HCABSI clinical epidemiology. Diamantis Plachouras
09:45 Why, where and how to perform HCABSI surveillance. Hajo Grundmann
10:15 Coffee break
10:45 Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infection (CLABSI): diagnostic                      aspects and challenges for control. Andreas Widmer
11:15 Do antibiotic resistant bacteria increase the burden of BSI?
           Hajo Grundmann
11:45 Lunch
13:15 Introduction to case/problem-based sessions.
            Moderators: Pilar Retamar, Winfried Kern, Barry Cookson & Inge Gyssens

Case/problem-based session A
13:30 Discussion of case 1–3 (all faculty members and participants                                   divided into small groups and allocated to 7 break-out rooms).
           Barry Cookson & Inge Gyssens
14:30 Central key points of case 1–3 (plenary session). Barry Cookson &
           Inge Gyssens

15:00 Coffee break

Case/problem-based session B
15:30 Discussion of case 4–6 (all faculty members and participants divided into              small groups and allocated to 7 break-out rooms). Pilar Retamar &                          Winfried Kern
16:30 Central key points of case 4–6. (plenary session). Pilar Retamar &                          Winfried Kern
19:30 Dinner

Friday, 24 April 2015

09:00 Focus- and pathogen-oriented approaches in the management of HCABSI
            in non-immunocompromised patients. Maria Souli
09:30 Special considerations in neutropenia. Winfried Kern
10:00 Special considerations in non-neutropenic immunosuppressed patients.
           Sibel Ascioglu
10:30 Coffee break
11:00 Prevention of BSI in the ICU. Andreas Widmer
11:30 BSI incidence and outcomes as quality indicators. Pilar Retamar
12:00 Lunch
13:30 Treatment of sepsis/BSI in high and low level resistance settings:                            interactive discussion on how broad to go. Bojana Beovic &
           Hakan Hanberger

14:15 Interventions to improve outcomes in bacteraemia: comprehensive                          bacteraemia programmes. Jesús Rodríguez-Baño
15:00 Coffee break
15:30 Antibiotic stewardship: when it makes a difference – the good examples.
           Bojana Beovic
16:15 Evaluation
16:45 Farewell

Faculty Members
  • Sibel Ascioglu, Ankara, Turkey
  • Bojana Beovic, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Barry Cookson, London, United Kingdom
  • Hajo Grundmann, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Inge Gyssens, Nijmegen, Netherlands
  • Hakan Hanberger, Linköping, Sweden
  • Winfried Kern, Freiburg, Germany
  • Diamantis Plachouras, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Pilar Retamar, Seville, Spain
  • Jesús Rodríguez-Baño, Seville, Spain
  • Maria Souli, Athens, Greece
  • Andreas Widmer, Basel, Switzerland