2022 Awardees

Congratulations to the winners of the 2022 TAE Outstanding Trainee Awards who will receive their awards during the TAE Day Session at ECCMID 2022.

Clare Warrell
Hospital for Tropical Diseases
United Kingdom


Clare Warrell is a Tropical Medicine/General Medicine registrar at the Hospital for Tropical Diseases, London, UK. During her specialist training she has spent time in Myanmar, India, Peru and Malawi developing clinical skills and working with incredible colleagues. In 2018, a Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Small Grant, combined with brilliant supervision, facilitated a clinical research project in Myanmar. A keen student and teacher, she has taught or been taught on 5 DTM&H courses in three continents. Her most widely-disseminated educational endeavour so far was as the UK Rare Imported Pathogen Laboratory registrar. Clare enthusiastically hosted weekly interactive case presentations in the Imported Fever Service Teleconferences. Encouraging an increasingly international mix of educational cases and audience members, and developing a portal for recordings for those who missed the live event. Clare hopes to apply her experience, enthusiasm, collaborative spirit and energy to patients, students and colleagues in years to come.





Claudio Neidhöfer
University Hospital Bonn


Claudio Neidhöfer studied medicine at the University of Pavia, Italy and at the Charité in Berlin, Germany. During his studies he did research and clinical clerkships in Belgium, India, Indonesia and China. In 2019 he started his specialty training in clinical microbiology at the University Hospital in Bonn, Germany. One chapter of his doctoral dissertation won the DGHM "Highlight of Infection Prevention" Award in 2021. In parallel, he pursued studies in nanobiotechnology and devoted himself to the methods of next-generation sequencing and its bioinformatic analysis. Subsequently, he set up a microbiome research unit at his institute and trained the necessary personnel to participate in this initiative. Through his research, he established lasting collaborations between his institute and institutions such as the HBRS Microbiome Center, the ZEW Leibniz Center for European Economic Research, and the DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine.