2020 Awardees

Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 TAE Outstanding Trainee Awards who will receive their awards during the TAE Day Session at ECCMID 2021.

Carlos L. Correa-Martínez
Infection Control Resident
University Hospital Münster


Carlos, a fifth-year infection control resident, conducted research on malaria as a medical student at the Institute of Tropical Medicine in Caracas, Venezuela, engaging in student associations seeking to foster undergraduate medical research in Latin America. He began his specialisation in Germany after working as rural physician in remote areas and indigenous communities in Venezuela. His current research projects focus on diagnostic microbiology, travel medicine, molecular epidemiology and hospital infections, cooperating with different institutions. As a lecturer at the University of Münster, he aims at promoting interdisciplinary work in infection control, providing medical students and fellow physicians with core notions of this field. Having trained in antimicrobial stewardship and currently pursuing an MSc in Public Health at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Carlos’s goals are to contribute to tackling the spread of multidrug-resistant microorganisms from a comprehensive perspective and to develop feasible prevention strategies for low-income countries.

Parul Kodan
Senior Resident
All India Institute of Medical Sciences


Dr Parul Kodan received top honors during her medical training and was awarded the ‘Best All-Round-Student Award’. She did her MD, Medicine during which alongside clinical and academic work, she won many awards for quiz, debates and for presentations of her work at National and International forums. She has received several honors including Award for Outstanding Performance(in Medicine)by Indian Medical Association (IMA), Rajiv-Gandhi-Science-Talent-Search -Fellowship and Inspire-Fellowship by Government of India . In 2016, she joined the first batch of DM- infectious diseases training program of the country at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). She received ESCMID Scholarship Award for one-month observership in ID at CHUV Lausanne, Switzerland .She has served as the 2019 Student Ambassador for Royal Societyof TropicalMedicine and Hygiene (RSTMH).She has actively contributed in departmental Antibiotic stewardship program and mobile based antibiotic app . She is presently involved in several projects and deeply committed to do impactful work in this field.