2018 Awardees

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 TAE Awards for Training Achievements who will receive their awards during the TAE Day session on Saturday 21 April at ECCMID.

Robbert Bentvelsen
Resident Clinical Microbiology
Leiden University Medical Center

The Netherlands


Robbert Bentvelsen is a resident in clinical microbiology at Leiden University Centre, the Netherlands. He is a trained physician and as a resident he volunteered to lead the Dutch lab-team in Freetown, Sierra Leone, to help fight the Ebola outbreak. He has won the national prize of the Dutch Hacking Health competition with an infection prevention smartphone app in 2016. Robbert contributes to educate medical students and residents (geriatrics) in the Netherlands and helped in a training programme in Sierra Leone. Currently he is principal investigator in the Participatient project, which aims to reduce urinary tract infections via patient participation through a smartphone app.

Maroun Sfeir
Infectious Diseases trainee
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York
United States

Maroun Sfeir is highly involved in teaching medical students and residents at Weill Cornell Medicine during their rotations in the division of infectious disease. He has served as major educator of the microbiology course each autumn for medical students at Cornell University and has received many excellent feedbacks. He was awarded several honours and awards including the ID Week 2016 Trainee Award Grant for Outstanding Case Report. Given his multilingual proficiency, he was granted the Committee of Interns and Residents (CIR) Policy and Education Initiative Scholarship to provide volunteer medical relief in Haiti in 2015 where he spent the summer in Port-au-Prince local hospitals serving the Haitian population and leading workshops for the Haitian physicians.