ESCMID Study Group for Implant-Associated Infections - ESGIAI

ESGIAI Annual Report

Download the latest Annual Report.

News & Activities

ESGIAI Executive Committee election results

The ESGIAI Executive Committee elections have concluded and the following members have been elected for the term of 2021-2023:

  • Marjan Wouthuyzen-Bakker, Netherlands (Chair)
  • Tobias Kramer, Germany (Secretary)
  • Jaime Esteban, Spain (Science Officer)
  • Efthymia Giannitsioti, Greece (Education Officer)
  • Yvonne Achermann, Switzerland (Treasurer)

The new Executive Committee will take office during the ESGIAI meeting at ECCMID this year.

We thank all previous Executive Committee members for their excellent work over the last years and are looking forward to continuing this work.


You can find the full election report here

2020 Annual Report Published

The Annual Report showcasing the achievements of the previous year is now available to view. 2020 was a challenging year due to COVID-19, but check out the report to see what the Study Group was able to accomplish or plan for the future.

ESCMID Postgraduate Education Course

Update on Diagnostic and Clinical Management of Complex Foreign Body Infections

Co-organised by ESGIAI, ESCMID and the University Medical Centre, Groningen

Groningen, Netherlands, 12 – 14 June 2019

This course aims at those confronted with implantassociated infections in daily routine as surgeons, infectious diseases physicians, internal medicine physicians, hospitalists, infection control practitioners or clinical microbiologists. All participants attending this course will learn about the recent and relevant advances in the diagnosis, antimicrobial and surgical therapeutical aspects of complex implant-associated infections. The programme consists of a three-day course with interactive lectures illustrated with clinical cases and meet-the-expert sessions.


Course material in the ESCMID eLibrary

New Executive Committee takes office

ESGIAI has a new executive committee composed of:

  • Chairperson: Marjan Wouthuyzen-Bakker, Netherlands
  • Secretary: Tobias Kramer, Germany
  • Treasurer: Dr Yvonne Achermann, Switzerland
  • Science Officer: Dr Jaime Esteban, Spain
  • Education Officer: Dr Efthymia Giannitsioti, Greece

Natividad de Benito and Parham Sendi as members of the election committee invited the membership to nominate candidates and vote. The results of the elections are the following:

  • Number of members with voting right: 89
  • Number of voters: 35 (39.3%)


  • Yvonne Achermann, Switzerland        27 votes, elected
  • Marjan Wouthuyzen-Bakker, Netherlands        25 votes, elected
  • Jaime Esteban, Spain        23 votes, elected
  • Tobias Kramer , Germany        21 votes, elected
  • Efthymia Giannitsioti, Greece        18 votes, elected
  • Dominique Salmon, France        4 votes, non-elected
  • No preference        2

The new executive committee is elected for two years.

ESCMID Postgraduate Education Course

Update on Endocarditis and Endovascular Infections

Co-organised by ESGBIES, ESGIAI and ESGS

20 – 23 March 2018, Münster, Germany

Course Objectives: to provide to postgraduate microbiologists and infectious disease physicians an updated overview of: the pathogenesis of intravascular infections including infective endocarditis (IE) and cardiovascular implantable; electronic device (CIED) infections caused especially by staphylococci and some other pathogens (e.g. Coxiella burnetii); epidemiology; improvement of diagnostic clinical and microbiological procedures; the best imaging techniques for IE and blood stream infections; optimized antimicrobial therapy; antibiotic prophylaxis for IE; choosing the right animal model for research.


Course material in the ESCMID eLibrary