ESCMID Study Group for Mycoplasma and Chlamydia Infections - ESGMAC

ESGMAC Annual Report

Download the latest Annual Report.

News & Activities

2021 Annual Report Published

The Annual Report showcasing the achievements of the previous year is now available to view. Be sure to check out the report to see what the Study Group was able to accomplish in 2021 as well as what they plan for the future.

ESGMAC business meeting (21 June 2021) minutes

The annual ESGMAC business meeting took place on 21 June 2021 at 15:00 CEST online. You can download the Executive Committee presentation here and the full meeting minutes here

ESGMAC Executive Committee election results

The ESGMAC Executive Committee elections have concluded and the following members have been elected for the term of 2021-2023:

  • Sabine Pereyre, France (Secretary)
  • Jorgen Skov Jensen, Denmark (Science Officer)
  • Michael Beeton, UK (Chair)
  • Barbara Van Der Pol, US (Treasurer)
  • Tomislav Mestrovic, Croatia (Education Officer)

The new Executive Committee will take office during the ESGMAC meeting at ECCMID this year.

We thank all previous Executive Committee members for their excellent work over the last years and are looking forward to continuing this work.


You can find the full election report here

2020 Annual Report Published

The Annual Report showcasing the achievements of the previous year is now available to view. 2020 was a challenging year due to COVID-19, but check out the report to see what the Study Group was able to accomplish or plan for the future.

ESGMAC 2020 Business Meeting minute

June 18, 2020

You can see the minutes for the ESGMAC business meeting that took place on June 11, 2020 here

New Executive Committee takes office

April 13, 2019

ESGAMC has a new executive committee composed of:

  • Chairperson: Prof. Ran Nir-Paz, Israe
  • Secretary: Prof. Cecile Bébéar, France
  • Treasurer: Prof. Gilbert Greub, Switzerland
  • Education Officer: Dr Katherine Loens, BelgiumScience Officer: Dr Michael Beeton, United Kingdom

Birgit Henrich and Jorgen Jensen as members of the election committee invited the membership to nominate candidates and vote. The results of the elections are the following:

  • Number of members with voting right: 46
  • Number of voters: 27 (58.7%)


  • Cécile Bébéar, France        22 votes, elected
  • Ran Nir-Paz, Israel        16 votes, elected
  • Gilbert Greub, Switzerland        13 votes, elected
  • Mike Beeton, United Kingdom        7 votes, elected
  • Katherine Loens, Belgium        6 votes, elected
  • Tomislav Mestrovic, Croatia        4 votes, non-elected
  • No preference        2

The new executive committee is elected for two years.

European Mycoplasma conference - London 18-19 March 2019

January 10, 2019

On March 18th and 19th an ESGMAC supported conference will be held on Public Health England in Colindale, London. The topics will be related to Human and animal Mycoplasmology. Early bird registration deadline is January 31st, Abstract submission deadline is February 10th 2019.

More details at mycoplasma2019 


January 6, 2019

We have newly formed ESGMI (ESCMID study group for Mycoplasma infections) into ESGMAC (ESCMID study group for Mycoplasma and Chlamydia Infections). The re-formed study group will group both physicians and scientists who aim to study and understand the clinical presentation, and the epidemiology (including development of antimicrobial resistance) of Mycoplasma, Ureaplasma, Chlamydia and Chlamydophila infections in humans as well as to improve diagnosis, treatment, control and prevention. The group will also promote and support international research activities, education, training, and good medical practice.

Furthermore, ESGMAC will complement and enhance activities with relevant international scientific societies such as the International Organization for Mycoplasmology (IOM), the European Society for Chlamydia research (ESCR) and the European Society for Chlamydioses, Coxiellosis, Anaplasmosis, Rickettsioses and Bartonellosis (ESCCAR).

Please join us at ESGMAC. Do not forget to join us at the coming ECCMID in Amsterdam.