Profession & Career

ESCMID Panorama

Award for Excellence in Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases 2019


This award recognizes and rewards an outstanding lifetime contribution in the areas of science, education or professional affairs in clinical microbiology and/or infectious diseases.

Eligibility criteria

Nominees for the award must be senior scientists who are professionally active and prepared to give a keynote lecture during the 29th ECCMID 2019. Members of the ESCMID Executive Committee are ineligible during their term of office and for 2 years thereafter.

Applications are now closed and will reopen in 2019

What you need for the nomination

All documentation is to be submitted electronically and no hard copies are required. When submitting, please have the following documentation ready and make sure you have uploaded the correct documents. After the deadline, you cannot make changes to any part of your nomination.

  • One PDF file (NomineeSurname.pdf, max. 4MB) including documents in the following order:

    • 1) Biographical sketch of the nominee (maximum two pages).
    • 2) Summary and analysis of the nominee's major contributions to science, education or public health in the field of clinical microbiology and/or infectious diseases.
    • 3) List of the 10 major original publications in refereed journals.

  • Two letters of support from individuals outside the nominating institution (Supporter1Surname_support1.pdf and Supporter2Surname_support2.pdf, max. 4MB).
  • A colour photograph of at least 4 x 6 cm with 300 dpi resolution for publication (NomineeSurname_NomineeFirstname.tiff, .eps or .jpg, max. 4MB).

Presentation and announcement of the award

The award will be presented at the Welcome Ceremony by the ESCMID President at the 29th ECCMID 2019 in Amsterdam. A dedicated session will also be held during which the awardee will give a 40-minute lecture. The award winner will also be announced through all ESCMID communication channels.

Claudio Viscoli, Genova, Italy & Dimitrios P. Kontoyiannis, Texas, USA

Thierry Calandra, Lausanne, Switzerland

Robert A. Bonomo, Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Marc J.M. Bonten, Utrecht, Netherlands

Ilaria Capua, Legnaro (Padua), Italy

Patrice Nordmann, Paris, France

Albert D.M. E. Osterhaus

E. Richard Moxon