Membership & Organization

ESCMID Panorama


Since its founding in 1983, ESCMID has evolved to become Europe’s leading society in clinical microbiology and infectious diseases with members from all European countries and all continents. For more than 30 years, ESCMID has been an influential component in the professional lives of microbiologists and infectious disease specialists and now reaches more than 7,000 individual and 30,000 affiliated members around the world. ESCMID, based in Basel, Switzerland, welcomes new colleagues from all nations.

For a detailed overview of our activities and benefits for members, please check out our brochure or see the respective web pages.

Click on the link below if you want to become a member of the society. To renew your membership, log in and then click on "Membership renewal" in the right-hand column.

It is with deep sadness and sorrow that we inform you that Leonhard Loew passed away on 16 November 2017. Leonhard was for many years closely connected with our society. He was deeply committed to ESCMID, to its mission and causes, and he supported the members of the Executive Committee with his valuable advice. Leonhard will be sadly missed by all of us. We send our condolences to his wife and his four children.

Leonhard first worked for ESCMID as head of AKM, the company that organized ESCMID’s congresses and other educational activities at that time. From 2009 until 2016 Leonhard worked as strategic consultant for the society through ASB Association Services, the association management company he founded in 2009.

Leonhard supported ESCMID in establishing and implementing strategies, concepts, events and operational structures and for many years helped manage ESCMID’s executive office. Leonhard was active as the chairman of ESCMID’s Foerderverein until his death.

A funeral service will be held for his close family and friends.


Current and former members of ESCMID Executive Committee:

Gunnar Kahlmeter, Murat Akova, Mario Poljak, Jesús Rodríguez-Baño, Evelina Tacconelli, Annelies Zinkernagel, Alex. W. Friedrich, Maurizio Sanguinetti, Winfried Kern


Current and former staff at the ESCMID Executive Office:

Samina Ahmed, Chantal Britt, Agnès Combebias, Nancy Gerits, Thomas Greif, Milena Griffiths, Emily Haug, Henri Saenz, Carla Seiler, Dianne White, Nora Nedkov

Find out all about ESCMID in our most current brochure which you can get here.