Award for Excellence in Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases 2021


This award recognizes and rewards an outstanding lifetime contribution in the areas of science, education or professional affairs in clinical microbiology and/or infectious diseases.

The call to apply for the Award for Excellence in Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases 2021 will officially open on the 10th of August 2020 and the deadline for submitting your applications is the 9th of October 2020, 17:00 CEST.

Eligibility criteria

Nominees for the award must be senior scientists who are professionally active and prepared to give a keynote lecture during ECCMID 2021. Members of the ESCMID Executive Committee are ineligible during their term of office and for 2 years thereafter.

What you need for the nomination

All documentation is to be submitted electronically and no hard copies are required. When submitting, please have the following documentation ready and make sure you have uploaded the correct documents. After the deadline, you cannot make changes to any part of your nomination.

  • One PDF file (NomineeSurname.pdf, max. 4MB) including documents in the following order:
    • 1) Biographical sketch of the nominee (maximum two pages).
    • 2) Summary and analysis of the nominee's major contributions to science, education or public health in the field of clinical microbiology and/or infectious diseases.
    • 3) List of the 10 major original publications in refereed journals.
  • Two letters of support from individuals outside the nominating institution (Supporter1Surname_support1.pdf and Supporter2Surname_support2.pdf, max. 4MB).
  • A colour photograph of at least 4 x 6 cm with 300 dpi resolution for publication (NomineeSurname_NomineeFirstname.tiff, .eps or .jpg, max. 4MB).

Presentation and announcement of the award

The award will be presented at the Welcome Ceremony by the ESCMID President at ECCMID 2021. A dedicated session will also be held during which the awardee will give a 40-minute lecture. The award winner will also be announced through all ESCMID communication channels.

Online nomination for Excellence Award

ESCMID members, all medical schools and institutions active in the field of clinical microbiology and infectious diseases, ESCMID's affiliated societies, as well as ESCMID Subcommittees and Study Groups are encouraged to nominate candidates for the award.

The ESCMID Executive Committee will select the awardees who will be notified of the decision by December 2020. Please refrain from inquiring on the status of your nomination before then. Self-applications will not be considered.