ESCMID Study Group for Anaerobic Infections - ESGAI

ESGAI Annual Report

Download the latest Annual Report.

News & Activities

ESGAI Executive Committee election results

The ESGAI Executive Committee elections have concluded and the following members have been elected for the term of 2021-2023:

  • Trefor Morris, UK (Chair)
  • Jozsef Soki, Hungary (Secretary)
  • Yann Dumont, France (Treasurer)

The new Executive Committee will take office during the ESGAI meeting at ECCMID this year.

We thank all previous Executive Committee members for their excellent work over the last years and are looking forward to continuing this work.

You can find the full election report here

2020 Annual Report Published

The Annual Report showcasing the achievements of the previous year is now available to view. 2020 was a challenging year due to COVID-19, but check out the report to see what the Study Group was able to accomplish or plan for the future.

New ESGAI Secretary elected

August 18, 2020

ESGAI held a special election to fill the role of Secretary in the ESGAI Executive Committee. Dr. Jozsef Soki (Hungary) was elected and will fulfill the role until the next Executive Committee elections.

New Executive Committee takes office

ESGAI has a new executive committee composed of:

  • Chair: Dr Linda Veloo, Netherlands
  • Secretary: Dr Miriam Cordovana, Italy
  • Treasurer: Dr Samo Jeverica, Slovenia

Trefor Morris and Ingrid Wybo as members of the election committee invited the membership to nominate candidates and vote. The results of the elections are the following:

  • Number of members with voting right: 49
  • Number of voters: 21 (42.9%)


  • Samo Jeverica , Slovenia        19 votes, elected
  • Linda Veloo, The Netherlands        19 votes, elected
  • Miriam Cordovana, Italy        18 votes, elected

The new executive committee is elected for two years.