Research & Projects

ESCMID Panorama

ESGEM bylaws

Bylaws of the ESCMID Study Group for Epidemiological Markers

These Bylaws are written rules of conduct of the Study Group, based on the Statutes of the Study Group and in particular Article 5. They set out the form, manner or procedure in which the Study Group is run.

§1 Name

ESCMID Study Group for Epidemiological Markers (ESGEM).

§2 Purpose of the Study Group

Molecular typing is an essential component of the microbiology and control of infection services provided across Europe and in many other countries of the world. Recent quantum advances in comparative genomics have yielded a wide choice of powerful methods for studying the genomic relatedness of microbes. The epidemiology of microorganisms does not recognise international boundaries. Collaboration between scientists working in different countries is therefore essential to standardise methodology and to track the spread of particular virulent or resistant microbial pathogens. ESGEM is a group of ESCMID members who share an interest in microbial typing.


The key objectives of ESGEM are to:

  1. critically evaluate microbiological typing methods and make recommendations for their appropriate use
  2. promote collaborative research into microbiological typing systems and to develop standardised methodology for specific pathogens
  3. provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and the development of consensus strategies
  4. work with individuals and companies active in this research area to foster the development of common standards and further technological advances in microbial typing.


§3 Membership

No additions to what is stated in the Article 3 of the Study Group Statutes.

§4 Assembly of members

All members of the Study Group shall be entitled to attend the Assembly of Members, which is usually held during ECCMID. The chair of the Study Group convenes the Assembly of Members by sending electronically the Agenda. The notice period shall be at least six weeks from the day following the dispatch of convocation. Assembly of members can be held online, except for the annual assembly at ECCMID. The Assembly of Members passes resolutions by a simple majority of the members present.

§5 Composition of the Executive Committee

The executive power of the Study Group is vested in the Executive Committee, which consists of :

  • Chair
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Education officer
  • Science officer

As stated in article 4 of the Statutes, no more than one elected member of the Executive Committee shall come from the same country. The Executive Committee may appoint some members for:

  • supporting the organisation of the tri-annual scientific meetings of ESGEM called IMMEM
  • supporting the organisation of educational or training workshops organized by or with support from ESGEM


§6 Meetings of the Executive Committee

Regular meetings are held at least quarterly and preferably by teleconferences. Special meetings may be called by the Chair or a majority of the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee passes resolutions with the simple majority of its members present; the Chair has the casting vote. The quorum consists of four members.

A secret voting procedure may be decided by the Chair or requested by the majority of the voting members.

§7 Vacancies in the Executive Committee

A member of the Executive Committee may vacate the position by resignation or termination of ESCMID membership. Any vacancy occurring in the Committee will normally be filled at the next scheduled election. If the vacancy cannot be filled with the interim appointment of another member, the Executive Committee may initiate new elections for a new member, to cover the remaining period of the term.

§8 Conferences

ESGEM organizes regular, mostly tri-annual meetings called International Meeting on Microbial Epidemiological markers (IMMEM). In addition, members of ESGEM regularly organize educational and training workshops.


Approved by the ESGEM Executive Committee on: 11 March 2019

Approved by the ESGEM Assembly of members on: 14 March 2019

Approved by the ESCMID Executive Committee on: 20 March 2019