TAE Activities 2016

New TAE Steering Committee met in November 2016

The TAE Steering Committee is working on a new survey about conducting research as a trainee. We are also expanding our network to reach trainees all over Europe. TAE is also busy planning the TAE Trainees Day for 2017. New this year is a longer (2-hour) round table session as well as inviting twenty local medical students to attract new talent to the CM and ID fields.

TAE Steering Committee Election 2016

We are pleased to announce the results of the TAE SC election 2016. The following candidates were elected by simple majority:

Infectious Diseases
•    Zaira Palacios Baena (Seville, Spain) with 29 of the ID votes
•    Cansu Cimen (Istanbul, Turkey) with 22 of the ID votes

Clinical Microbiology
•    Caroline Rönnberg (Stockholm, Sweden) with 49 of the CM votes
•    Thea-Christin Zapf (Marburg, Germany) with 36 of the CM votes

We congratulate the newly elected TAE SC members and welcome them to the TAE Steering Committee. We would also like to thank all candidates for their interest and active participation in the electoral procedure.

list of TAE Steering Committee

TAE publishes survey on training conditions in EJCMID - open access article

The TAE has recently published the results of a large survey among European trainees in clinical microbiology and infectious disease on training systems and training adequacy. This survey shows high heterogeneity in training conditions in European countries, identifies perceived gaps in training, and suggests areas for improvements. The results can be read here (open access article).

Successful 2016 TAE Trainees Day at ECCMID!

The session included talks by the 2016 Young Investigator Awardees, information relevant to trainees as well as two 1-hour round table sessions moderated by a diverse group of experts in the CM and ID fields. We look forward to another TAE Day at ECCMID 2017.

TAE was actively involved in this educational workshop at ECCMID 2016
  • Undergraduate and postgraduate training and assessments in the infection field – a European discussion

Election results: 2016 TAE Steering Committee

We are pleased to present the two newly elected members who will take office in 2016:

  • David ONG, Resident Clinical Microbiology, UMC Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands (CM)
  • Ceren ATASOY, Resident, Şişli etfal education and research hospital, Istanbul, Turkey (ID)