Research Grant Awardees in 2015

We are pleased to present the 14 recipients of a research grant in 2015 who received up to EUR 20'000 each for their projects.


Diana Angelica Aguilar-Ayala, Ghent, Belgium
Berend Jan Bosch, Utrecht, Netherlands
Serena Cavallero, Rome, Italy
Xavier Charpentier, Villeurbanne, France
Dirk Eggink, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Joseph Meletiadis, Athens, Greece
Jasmina Nikodinovic-Runic, Belgrade, Serbia
Joao Perdigao, Lisbon, Portugal
Ville Nikolai Pimenoff, Barcelona, Spain
Meta Roestenberg, Leiden, Netherlands
Margarida Saraiva, Braga, Portugal
Vicky Sender, Stockholm, Sweden
Lidija Senerovic, Belgrade, Serbia
Rita Sobral, Monte de Caparica, Portugal

Diana Angelica Aguilar-Ayala

Biochemistry and Microbiology, Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium


Mycobacterium tuberculosis in a cholesterol and fatty acid rich environment: global response to dormancy and antibiotic resistance

Berend Jan Bosch

Department Infectious Diseases & Immunology, Virology Division, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Utrecht University, Utrecht, Netherlands


Propagation of enteric coronaviruses: no guts no glory

Serena Cavallero

Department of Public Health and Infectious Diseases, Sapienza, University of Rome, Rome, Italy


Comparative analyses on transcriptomes of anisakid pathogenic species

Xavier Charpentier

MAP UMR5240, CNRS, Villeurbanne, France


Antibiotic activity of a trans-translation inhibitor against the intracellular pathogen Legionella pneumophila

Dirk Eggink

Medical Microbiology, Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands


Adaptive evolutionary pathways of highly pathogenic avian H5N1 influenza in humans

Joseph Meletiadis

Clinical Microbiology Laboratory, Attikon University Hospital, Athens, Greece


Determination of pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic breakpoints for voriconazole and posaconazole against Candida glabrata and Candida krusei in a multicentre study

Jasmina Nikodinovic-Runic

Medical Mycology Reference Laboratory, Serbian Society of Medical Mycology, Belgrade, Serbia


Development of biopolymeric formulation of antifungal polyenes using medium chain length polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHA): validation against superficial mycoses

Joao Perdigao

Research Institute for Medicines, Faculty of Pharmacy of the University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal


Transcriptomic profiling of clinical Mycobacterium tuberculosis strains: global transcriptomic response towards drug exposure and metabolic shift towards latency

Ville Nikolai Pimenoff

Infections and Cancer, Catalan Institute of Oncology, Barcelona, Spain


Evolutionary history of oncogenic human papillomavirus type 16 (HPV16) inferred from 1194 worldwide HPV16 variant isolates and 410 historical HPV16 isolates collected in the last 86 years in Europe - implications for the viral evolution after global HPV16

Meta Roestenberg

Parasitology L4-Q, Leiden University Medical Centre, Leiden, Netherlands


Diagnosis of schistosomiasis in travellers by urine CAA testing

Margarida Saraiva

Life and Health Sciences Research Institute, Braga, Portugal


Deciphering the candidate Mycobacterium tuberculosis molecular signatures of TLR2 vs TLR4 activation

Vicky Sender

Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden


Influenza-induced modulations of TLR inhibitors: a mechanism contributing to enhanced susceptibility to secondary pneumococcal pneumonia

Lidija Senerovic

Laboratory for Microbial Molecular Genetics and Ecology, Institute of Molecular Genetics and Genetic Engineering, Belgrade, Serbia


Structurally-guided identification of novel pharmacophores targeting Pseudomonas aeruginosa quorum sensing and biofilm formation

Based upon her outstanding research proposal, she has been awarded the ESCMID/FEMS Research Fellowship 2015.

Rita Sobral

CREM, FCT, UNL, Monte de Caparica, Portugal


A new target inside an old molecule: glutamate amidation of peptidoglycan