Profession & Career

ESCMID Panorama

2015 election for the Trainee Association of ESCMID (TAE)

In 2016 the term of two of the TAE Steering Committee (TAE SC) members will end. The resulting vacancies for a three-year term (2016-2019) are to be filled with 2 new members (one in Clinical Microbiology and one in Infectious Diseases) who will be elected in autumn 2015.

The call for candidates has closed on 29 September 2015. The election will commence in October 2015.

Eligibility criteria for being a TAE SC member:

Candidates must meet the following criteria at the time of election (reference date is closing day of election: 3 November 2015):

  • Must be an ESCMID member
  • Must be 35 years old or younger
  • Are in training to specialise in CM or ID when elected
  • Have not previously been a member of the TAE Steering Committee
  • Are not a member of any ESCMID Subcommittee or the ESCMID EC

In the interests of equal representation and parity it is most desirable that the new members come from countries in Europe that have not been recently represented in the TAE Steering Committee. Ideally members should not come from the same country and represent the same specialty as any Steering Committee member stepping down. Therefore applications from the following countries, especially those combined with the same specialties as below, are discouraged and will only be considered for election if there are insufficient numbers of candidates putting themselves forward from other countries:

Belgium – Clinical Microbiology
Bosnia and Herzegovina – Clinical Microbiology
Greece – Clinical Microbiology
Italy – Infectious Diseases
Portugal – Infectious Diseases
Spain – Infectious Diseases

Like to get involved?

Are you a trainee in CM or ID or have you finished your specialization of CM/ID less than three years ago? Would you like to join as a representative for your country? Don’t hesitate to contact one of the representatives of the Steering Committee.